Home Page Home Page
Advanced Search  Site Map  
What's NewMedia CentreIndustry IssuesAbout UKOOAEducation

About UKOOA Memu
About UKOOA

Introduction

UK Offshore Operators Association (UKOOA) is the representative organisation for the UK offshore oil and gas industry. Its members are companies licensed by the Government to explore for and produce oil and gas in UK waters.


UKOOA's Mission

Through co-operative solutions across industry, government and all stakeholders, to strengthen the long term health of the UK offshore oil and gas industry.

Operations Directorate

"Delivering solutions to increase the efficiency and lifespan of UKCS operations (cost, production and new reserves) whilst ensuring overall integrity."

Health, Safety, Social and Environmental Directorate

"Supporting Step Change in Safety, managing safety issues, seeking real and meaningful improvement in environmental practice, and sustaining a skills base for the future."

Economics and Commercial Directorate

"Increasing the international competitiveness of the UKCS by securing a fiscal and economic framework.  Securing and influencing the development of the UK gas industry (offshore and onshore) in the context of the UK's Security of Supply."

Communications Directorate

"Creating an environment in which member companies can better pursue their business objectives by consistent & constant communication with external stakeholders."


UKOOA President, Board and Directorate

President and Board Members UKOOA Directorate

President:
Ian Hewitt
Vice President
UK Upstream
BG Group plc

Ian Hewitt

Malcolm WebbChief Executive
Malcolm Webb






                     mwebb@ukooa.co.uk

Operations

Operations Director
Paul Dymond
pdymond@ukooa.co.uk

Technical Assistant
Jennifer Stewart
jstewart@ukooa.co.uk

Business Analyst
Euan Meldrum
emeldrum@ukooa.co.uk

Business Advisor 
Pia Mandler
pmandler@ukooa.co.uk

 

HSSE

HSSE Director
Chris Allen
callen@ukooa.co.uk

Environmental Issues Manager

Mick Borwell
mborwell@ukooa.co.uk

Safety Issues Manager

Bob Kyle
bkyle@ukooa.co.uk

European Issues Manager
John Conmy
jconmy@ukooa.co.uk

Business Analyst
Stuart Kirk
skirk@ukooa.co.uk

Learning and Development
Consultant

Annette Thomas
athomas@ukooa.co.uk
 

Economics and Gas

Economics and Commercial Director

Mike Tholen
mtholen@ukooa.co.uk

Gas & Commercial Issues Manager

David Odling
dodling@ukooa.co.uk

Fiscal Issues Manager
Agustin Rivara
arivara@ukooa.co.uk

Business Analyst
Sally Fraser
sfraser@ukooa.co.uk
 

Communications

Communications Director
Steve Harris
sharris@ukooa.co.uk

Media Relations and
Knowledge Manager

Trisha O'Reilly
toreilly@ukooa.co.uk

Public Affairs Manager (Westminster)
Rona Macdonald
rmacdonald@ukooa.co.uk

Marketing Services Executive
Fiona Bridgeman
fbridgeman@ukooa.co.uk

Communications Executive
Elisabeth Glover
eglover@ukooa.co.uk


Finance

Finance Executive
Frances Russell
frussell@ukooa.co.uk
 

Business Support

Business Support Manager
Amanda Jones
ajones@ukooa.co.uk

Business Support Assistant
Francesca Frodsham
ffrodsham@ukooa.co.uk

Business Support Assistant
Elizabeth Holloway
eholloway@ukooa.co.uk

 

 
Vice President:
Dave Blackwood
Director
BP

Treasurer:
Jon Murphy
Chief Operating Officer
Venture Production plc


Advisory Board Members:

Randy Cleveland
UK Joint Interest Manager
ExxonMobil International Ltd

Michel Contie
Managing Director
Total E&P UK plc

John Crum
Managing Director
Apache North Sea Ltd

Michael Engell-Jensen
Managing Director
Maersk Oil UK

Robert Estill
President
Marathon Oil UK Ltd

Mark Hughes
Managing Director
Gaz de France Britain

Archie Kennedy
Managing Director
ConocoPhillips (UK) Ltd

Gary Luquette
President and Managing Director
ChevronTexaco Ltd

Kieron McFadyen
Technical Director
Shell Exploration & Production

John Michell
Director
ENI (UK) Ltd

Christophe Schlichter
Managing Director
RWE Dea UK Ltd

John Scrimgeour
Regional Manager, North West Europe
Petro-Canada


Jeremy Valentine
Asset Manager, North West Europe
Burlington Resources (Irish Sea) Limited

Nick Walker
Vice President
Talisman Energy (UK) Limited

 

The Structure of the Oil and Gas Industry and UKOOA

The structure of the oil and gas industry and UKOOA

This table shows the role that UKOOA member companies play within the upstream and downstream oil and gas businesses. There are exceptions to the above, but the table shows the generality of activities of integrated and independent companies.

There is often confusion when the general term 'Oil and Gas Industry' is used, implying a monolithic, highly co-ordinated structure, which is far from the reality. About half of UKOOA's member companies are subsidiaries of international corporations involved in refining and retailing of oil and gas products, as well as exploration and production. An even smaller number of companies are involved in the transport of oil and gas. Even for major integrated companies, the UKOOA member company is usually a separate business under separate management.

The tax regime in the UK treats the upstream sector as separate from any downstream activities and competition law also ensures that there is a clear dividing line between upstream and downstream.

Shipping oil and its products is carried out by companies independent of those undertaking exploration and production on the UK Continental Shelf. Although some of these have the same parent companies as the exploration and production businesses, they operate as separate entities.

The regulation and supervision of shipping follows international and regional or local laws, conventions and standards. It is undertaken by:

  • the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), a United Nations Body,
  • the international classification societies (Lloyd's Register, Det Norske Veritas, American Bureau of Shipping among others),
  • the flag states in which ships are registered, and
  • the states through whose waters ships pass or whose ports ships visit.

The Oil Companies International Maritime Forum (OCIMF) in London, represents oil companies interests in marine transport and is primarily concerned with safe conduct of these operations and prevention of pollution. More information about OCIMF can be found at http://www.ocimf.com/.


Home What's New Media Centre Industry Issues About UKOOA Education

© 2005 United Kingdom Offshore Operators Association
London: Tel 020 7802 2400  Fax 020 7802 2401    Aberdeen: Tel 01224 577 250  Fax 01224 577 251
Email info@ukooa.co.uk  Web http://www.oilandgas.org.uk/

Legal and Copyright Issues and Privacy Statement